6th Gaon Chart Music Awards Winners


    The 2017 ‘Gaon Chart Music Awards’ took place today featuring an impressive roster of kpop talent being nominated and performing on stage.

    Among the famous faces were SISTAR, EXO, MAMAMOO, GFriend, TWICE, SHINee’s Onew, Han Dong Geun, BewhY, Bolbbalgan Sachungi, and Dean.

    The awards are hosted by South Korea’s national music record chart and recognises the range of talent across the industry under many different categories.

    The full list of winners are:

    Artist of the Year (Album – Quarterly)

    First Quarter: GOT7

    Second Quarter: EXO

    Third Quarter: EXO

    Fourth Quarter: BTS

    Artist of the Year (Song – Monthly)

    January: GFRIEND

    February: MAMAMOO

    March: Jang Bum Joon

    April: TWICE

    May: Urban Zakapa

    June: SISTAR

    July: Wonder Girls

    August: BLACKPINK

    September: Lim Chang Jung

    October: TWICE

    November: BLACKPINK

    December: BIGBANG

    Rookie of the Year – Album: NCT 127

    Rookie of the Year – Song: BLACKPINK

    Style of the Year – Choreography: Son Seung Deuk (BTS)

    Style of the Year – Stylist: Choi Hui Seon (TWICE)

    Discovery of the Year – R&B: Dean

    Discovery of the Year – Hip hop: BewhY

    Discovery of the Year – Indie: Bolbbalgan Sachoongi

    Discovery of the Year – Ballad: Han Dong Geun

    V LIVE Global Popularity: BTS

    Song of the Year – International Pop: Maroon 5

    International Rising Star of the Year : Charlie Puth

    Popular Singer of the year: MC the Max

    Long-Run Song of the Year: MC the Max

    Producer of the Year: Bang Shi Hyuk

    K-pop Contribution of the Year: SECHSKIES

    Song Writer of the Year: Jo Yoon Kyung (EXO)

    Composer of the Year: Black Eyed Pilseung

    World Hallyu Star: SHINee

    Hot Performance of the Year: INFINITE, SEVENTEEN

    Artist of Fan Choice – Individual: Sehun (EXO)

    Artist of Fan Choice – Group: EXO

    Performer of the Year – Chorus: Kim Ryeong

    Performer of the Year – Musical Instrument: Lee Seong Yeol, Choi Tae Wan